Crandall football earns post-season honors

Samy Omosigho, No. 7, is the defensive newcomer of the year for District 9-4A.

The votes for the 2019 District 9-4A All District Football Awards are in, and local sports fans may recognize some of the names. District leader Crandall led the way with three players and one coach being recognized.

Defensive end Calob Davis spent the season terrorizing quarterbacks and offensive lineman on his way to earning the co-Defensive MVP spot, an honor he shares with Midlothian Heritage Linebacker Konner Jones. Both offensive and defensive “Newcomer of the Year” awards went to Crandall’s Sha’brun Booker and Samy Omosigho respectively. The Coaching Staff of the Year award also went to Crandall. The team advanced to the 4A D1 regionals this year before losing to Carthage on Nov. 29. Carthage is moving into the championship game against La Vega.

It was a satisfying year for the Pirates.

“We had almost every starter on both sides of the ball, as well as special teams players, make the All-District team,” said Crandall’s coach and athletic director, Joe Dale Cary. “This is a huge compliment to our kids and coaches for the hard work they put in since last November. We play in a tough district, so for a large number of our kids to make the All-District team is a great honor. We are extremely proud of our kids and all they accomplished this season. For the young ones, hopefully it’s a springboard into the next few months as we get bigger, faster, and stronger before the jump to 5A football.”

Midlothian Heritage had the second highest number of award winners this year, including the District MVP. That honor went to senior wide receiver and three star college recruit Jay Wilkerson who had more than 1,200 yards and 15 receiving touchdowns this year. The aforementioned Konner Jones won co-Defensive MVP after recording 138 total tackles and 4 sacks. Kolton May earned Defensive Line MVP.

Triple-threat Gage Mayfield won Offensive MVP for Life Waxahachie after dividing time between QB, RB and WR and being exemplary at all three positions. Mayfield threw 12 TD’s, ran for 9, and caught 3. Last but definitely not least is Offensive Line MVP which was awarded to Garrett Hayes from Athens. Hayes is a 4-star recruit at OL and recently signed a letter of intent with Texas Christian University.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.